Dry January

IMG_0421
The lid stays ON…*sniff*…

I’m going alcohol-free for January in aid of Cancer Research.

Those of you who know me will probably remember my little tussle with cervical cancer that resulted in a Wertheim’s hysterectomy five years ago. I’m finally signed off from having to have follow up smears every six months and I can now go back to a bi-annual date with Metal Mickey (or his godson, Plastic Pete). The whole process took nine years from the first dodgy smear test to the final test a few weeks ago.

A month or so ago I was jollying my friend Claire along about some tests that she had to undergo following the birth of her baby. Then the results came back. Less than six months after giving birth, she now has to undergo six weeks of chemotherapy and radiotherapy. starting on New Year’s Eve.

For some reason, that made me want to do something positive. Well, I got our girl gang to club together to buy a bottle steriliser and I’ve got plans to start doing freezer packs of squished carrots for little Joe’s weaning, but then I wanted to do a little bit more, which is when I found out about the Dryathalon. So, as of 1 January, in solidarity with the Shep, I will give up all alcohol for the month of January, so she’s not alone when she pokes miserably at a cranberry and soda in the pub.

Again, if you know me you’re probably thinking, “Hang on, Smithsky, you only have to sniff a glass of wine and your face turns an entertaining shade of purple and you suddenly need to take a nap. You have even been known to be violently ill after a mere three pints. So you’re not exactly hardcore are you?” To this I say, “It’s a medical thing, actually. It’s called Asian Flush. So Google it, why don’t you? Oh hang on, here’s a link.”

To be honest, I think it’s going to be quite hard, even if I don’t drink all that much. I rather like a glass of wine to help relax me at the end of a tough commute. When I’m laying waste to the opposition in a pub quiz, a beer helps to stimulate the grey matter. And I have absolutely no idea how I will get through a choir practice without the soothing promise of alcohol at the end.

But you can help in two ways.

  1. Donate via my JustGiving page. Just click on the link or on the fetching pink button in the sidebar.
  2. Email me your recipes for non-alcoholic cocktails. I might even write a feature on them for the blog…
Comments are closed.

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

tobylitt

a to z of the writer of the a to z

CATS ON FILM

Films with cats in them.

LucyAnn &Luna craft

crafting,dachshunds including other bits & bobs

Northern Dad. The award-winning blog.

Marriage is great, but honestly, the swearing...

The Future Is Papier Mâché

- Pictures of a City -

Peckham WI

Peckham Women's Institute

marpay organics

Organic living, nutrition and health.

frugalmrsp

Real frugal stuff I do to stay sane in a world of spending.

