Hey diddley dee…

Remember I told you about that job where I worked on a tiny team, doing lots of projects? Well, as of 25 February, I will be working there no more. I won’t go into the messy detail, but after a lot of soul-searching, I decided that the time had come for me to cut loose and try contracting/freelancing again.

I’ve set up the portfolio and my LinkedIn profile is up to date. I’ve registered with some agencies and I’ve got a couple of applications in progress. On top of that, a contact has an idea about iBooks which could prove very interesting indeed.

Thinkstock ref 515071361
Arsing about with Thinkstock again. I hate these backwards writing pics.

I suspect that a number of factors will make work slow to begin with, but I’m fairly confident that my skills and experience will net me a set of interesting, intriguing jobs in the future. I’ll have to be more careful about budgeting and get my admin organised, but I think the payoff will be worth it: more time with Martin and Charlie, and maybe even a chance at finishing my MA .

In other news, Charlie sprained her knee while we were  rearranging her bedroom a couple of days ago. It meant a trip to A&E in an ambulance, but by the time the doctor got around to seeing us (two hours…not bad, considering) the swelling had gone down and she could almost walk normally. She’s still got a swollen knee but she’s not in much pain.

And…I am now a committee member of Nunhead WI. We had our inaugural meeting last night. We expected around 20 people to turn up, but to our surprise nearly 80 women squeezed into the upstairs room at the Old Nun’s Head. I was very cold-ridden and trying not to die but we were all bowled over by the wealth of talent and enthusiasm of all the new members. We’ve got a political lobbyist turned artist, several fundraisers, teachers, civil servants, researchers and marketeers, not to mention lawyers, project managers and crafters. Our next meeting is Monday 16 March and I have no idea what’s going to happen, but it’ll be fun finding out.

