Still haven’t blogged

Still haven’t blogged

There have been a number of reasons for this. One is that the new job turned out to be very full-on and intense (it still is, but at least I’m not crying with exhaustion at the end of each week). That led to me dropping most of the things that interest me in life, apart from the family, the cats and the odd knitting project. I even gave up the choir, though there were other reasons for that (let’s just say “musical differences”).

So, a brief summary.

  1. I work in a tiny team, doing more projects than I care to mention (though it’s relatively quiet right now) for a big training company.
  2. I dropped out of my MA for a year or two because I didn’t have time to devote to the study. Since then I’ve been looking at the Allotment movement and pondering a change in subject. There’s a lot in there about land rights, working class organisation/agitation and the management of leisure time.
  3. We acquired a rabbit called Smokey.
  4. We lost a rabbit called Smokey to our friendly local fox. Charlie found a small mammal’s digestive system neatly arranged on the lawn and we worked out that that was what he left of Smokey. She was a lovely rabbit.
  5. Charlie is in Year 6. This means looking at SECONDARY SCHOOLS. So, here are our choices:
    1. Deptford Green
    2. Harris Girls Dulwich
    3. Haberdashers Aske’s Hatcham
    4. Addey & Stanhope
  6. Martin is still playing with Konni Deppe, and he has a new trio called The Neighbours Trio, made up of a couple of excellent young local musicians (they have beards) and a grumpy balding guitar player. They’re playing at the Ivy House in March sometime.
  7. Errr…
  8. That’s it.
