Nearly summer and I haven’t blogged ONCE

Oh, I’m going to have to do something about that, aren’t I? Well, it’s 2014, I’ve completed the big quilt that I started about a year ago. The other things that have happened are that I’ve got a new job as an instructional designer with a big UK training company. It’s quite a culture shock from staid old Thomson Reuters, but I think I’m slowly getting to grips with the job. I’m having to unlearn a lot of bad habits from the last nine years, and there’s a new challenge every day, but it’s definitely not boring.

What else? Well, we got through Easter without any major incident or hospital episode, which makes a nice change. Martin and Charlie went to Cornwall to look after their favourite dog for a couple of days. I joined them on Good Friday (I’d just like to say here that First Great Western is…meh), and we all drove home on Monday.

Charlie is now ten years old. She is very cheeky, but still doing well at school. We’re not looking forward to starting the big quest for a decent secondary school, but I think she’ll do well wherever she goes. She passed her Grade 2 Trumpet with a distinction, which is possibly cooler than the Blue Peter badge, but I may be overdoing the proud parent thing here…

So, we’re all fine. Life is fine. We live in a beautiful city that is being ravaged by the super rich, but they haven’t quite reached our little hill yet, so we’re safe…for now…

