Sashiko quilt panel

Sashiko quilt panel

20131026-181047.jpg

Mum and I spent a lovely day at the Knitting and Stitching Show at Ally Pally a few weeks ago. We were bowled over by the skill, talent and creativity of the exhibitors, who were truly inspiring. I bought loads of things, including a lovely quilt panel set with instructions on creating Sachiko embroidery effects from Euro Japan Links. It was long enough to make a table runner, and it took me two weekends to complete. Obviously, I am not a natural quilter, and symmetry scares me. The squares don’t match up properly, and one of the sachiko panels is wayyyy off centre. I was half watching a Miyazaki film to get me in the right frame of mind, and I think we had got to a particularly weird bit when I started the panel. Well, that’s my excuse, and I’m sticking with it.

 

 

 

20131026-181059.jpg

Here’s the finished article, laid out on the table. You can see the wonky bits at one end. This end will go by the window, where you won’t notice it as much.

20131026-181106.jpg

Amazing how a few strategically-placed fruit bowls can improve things…

