Lemon Drizzle Cake

The school Christmas fair is today, and I have promised the cake stall a lemon drizzle cake. I made this cake about three times in a month last year, and then forgot all about it, what with everything that happened in 2010.

I want to blog this recipe because the booklet it came from has disappeared during the move. That means it’s up in the attic and lost for eternity or until Charlie decides to get organised in rebellion against her deadbeat parents.

Luckily Mum has a copy.

The original recipe is lost in the mists of the 80s, but the author (a lady called Becca who famously makes cakes for the Choumert Square Open Day, and has published her recipes in the aforementioned booklet that I have lost) says it was passed to her by a friend in Essex. So it has to be good.

I make no apologies for the imperial measurements: I’m a child of the 60s.

Ingredients

Cake

4 oz softened butter (I used Lurpak Lighter)

Rind of 1 lemon, finely grated

7-8oz caster sugar, depending on your sweet tooth

2 eggs

1/4 pint milk

6 oz self-raising flour

Syrup

Lemon juice (use the lemon you just grated)

Caster sugar to taste

 

Make ready a 2lb loaf tin, but not the Jamie Oliver silicone one, because it’s rubbish (see below)

 

Process

DSCN0751Blend together the butter, lemon rind, sugar, eggs and milk until you have a nice batter. I use a stick blender in a bowl to save on the washing up.

Fold in the flour, spoon by spoon.

Pour the batter into a loaf tin and bake in a moderate oven for 45-50 minutes. I’m still getting to grips with my fancy fan-assisted oven, but 35 minutes at 160 degrees seemed to work nicely.

Remove from the oven and leave in the pan until cool, or there will be terrible consequences.

While the cake is cooling, make the syrup. Boil the lemon juice and sugar together until clear and syrupy.

Pour the syrup over the cake while it is still in the tin.

When the cake has cooled down, remove from the tin and eat. Or take to your local school Christmas fair.

Why you shouldn’t use the Jamie Oliver silicone loaf tin

DSCN0753

Martin’s a pretty keen breadmaker (part of that grrr!_I’m_not_metrosexual_thing), and he has been campaigning to junk the Jamie Oliver silicone loaf tin (on the right) for several months. He says it doesn’t cook the loaf properly, and stuff sticks to the bottom, even though it’s not supposed to. I’ve resisted because it a) cost a bit, and b) maybe it would be good for cakes.

Today’s baking session afforded me the opportunity to test the tin against a bog-standard Tefal loaf tin (on the left). And you can see what happened.

I’ve got a fan-assisted oven that I admit I’m still learning to use, but even so. These cakes were from the same batch of ingredients, cooked in the same oven at the same time, and for the same amount of time. I tested both cakes twice, and when it came to turning them out…

DSCN0754

…and this is the result. The Tefal cake is lovely and springy and whole!

The JO cake is broken and unfit to present to the Ivydale League of Friends. Which is fine, because it’s still delicious and my family have already confiscated it.

