Convalescence

Somebody told me (in the middle of all this) that one morning I would wake up and suddenly feel better. Not just slightly better than yesterday, or free of pain; just normal. At the time I thought that was a bit far-fetched – especially as I did go on to “overdo it” that day, and ended up groaning in bed for 12 hours.

Well, that day was yesterday. I woke up at around 6am, having had only three night interruptions, and felt normal for the first time in two months.

This is a Good Thing because I’m due to go back to work part-time on Monday. I’m doing three days a week until the end of August, just to make sure that I have plenty of time to get strong again.

According to the calendar, the “normal” day came six weeks and three days after the operation. That matches pretty well with the prediction in the hospital literature. I’m impressed.

I don’t think I’ve ever been that ill before – and I definitely don’t want to be that ill again. All the plans I had for convalescence: back to work (at home) after three weeks, learning Flash, sewing projects…are mostly still at the planning stage. I did manage one Flash lesson, but for some reason the program crashed my laptop. I managed to do a bit of work on reviewing some new software, but that’s all my boss would allow me to do. The big sewing projects were out of the question because I couldn’t lift the sewing machine without help. We’re still living in the flat, though planning on moving soon (lawyers permitting).

In fact, the only thing I could do was watch TV and knit. The jumper only needs one more sleeve…

