Westlife: the update

I don’t know why, but I just haven’t had the urge to blog recently. Too busy, too absorbed, oh I dunno.

So…update. I had an MRI scan a couple of weeks ago, and I have to have another one on Tuesday 8 because they…umm…well I’m sure it’s important. I’m sure that they don’t just pick a random middle-aged women, give her an injection to dye her insides blue, and then scan her lardy middle-aged torso to make nice pictures for their Christmas cards. Maybe it’s because the cancer is still pretty small, and it’s in a small place, so they can’t locate it as precisely as they want.

The surgeon says the histology report is pretty conclusive, however. The cancerous cells are about 1cm deep, and now is the time to act.

I’m going in on 15 June, and I have to do some kind of pre-operation assessment exercise at Guys on Thursday. However, I haven’t received any notification, or letter saying where I report to. Guys is a massive maze of buildings, and while I appreciate the change of scenery, I don’t really want to spend a morning wandering its corridors in search of a cheery nurse to record my weight and ask lots of questions about previous operations (dodgy arm-setting and consequences thereof – cue waving about of Frankenstein arm etc, wisdom teeth, caesarian section, far too many LLETZs), and look concerned at the family history of type 2 diabetes and depression (mum’s side); and heart disease (dad’s side). The NHS admin usually pulls through though, so hopefully I’ll get a letter tomorrow.

Actually, what I really want to do is get back to work.

We spent last week in the Vendee-Sud, on the coast close to La Roche-Sur-Yon.  Fantastic beaches, beautiful forests, lots of lovely birds. More to follow when I log on again and actually upload some pictures.

