The Park Bench: How to Meet and Woo a Nerdy Girl

 

The Park Bench: How to Meet and Woo a Nerdy Girl

I think these people have been spying on me.

Here are my notes:

 

Tip 2: Yes to David Tennant (my five-year-old daughter says we can share him). Who is the other guy?

Tip 3: True. Don’t bother with the Eliot though. Obscure 19th century is my bag, baby.

Tip 5: I think the British version would be Radio 4 or World Service. Radio 4 is a must.

Tip 7: I admit that I have read LOTR three times, but I found the films stultifying  – even though the scenery was gorgeous. Helms Deep was actually a park in Wainuimata, where my cousins used to live, so I couldn’t watch that without thinking: “that’s less than three miles away from the most boring suburb known to humanity”. So, substitute…hmmm…Edgar Wright and/or The League of Gentlemen for Abrams and Jackson.

No idea who Nathan Fillion is, and I’m totally in agreement with the Star Wars/Star Trek thing.

Tip 8: I don’t look like Liz Lemon – and I used to go to college with a similarly named woman who was the size of a house, and was the epitome of the sour-faced 80s feminist. So don’t.  Anyway, face of Zoe Wanamaker with Barbara Windsor’s laugh and Crystal Tipps hair is nearer the mark.

Tip 9: For collectibles, read CD/what’s left of my vinyl collection. Whatever you do, DON’T walk into my flat and say: “it’s rather cluttered. Do you really listen to all those CDs?"

Tip 10: Substitute jazz gigs for conventions and you might be onto something there. Actually, get me a ticket to a Pixies gig and I’m yours.

Tip 11: Very important this one – only don’t use my original pressing of Blue Monday if you want to live.

 

Good thing I’m married.

One thought on “The Park Bench: How to Meet and Woo a Nerdy Girl

  1. You simply must discover Nathan Fillion! He’s utterly brilliant, especially in Firefly (it’s the boots and breaches in space approach that really melts my heart).

Comments are closed.