Whitstable: parasols

Whitstable: parasols

Originally uploaded by Sladey

We spent the last Sunday of May in Whitstable (the reason it has taken me so long to blog is that I’ve been hella busy at work, in life…you know how it is…working parent…blah).

Whitstable is a nice little seaside town, a lot like Portrush, only without the Arctic wind and a shingle beach (not my favourite). It was a beautiful day, and the Thames estuary waters were lovely and safe for the kids.

J’s dad tried to direct the kids in his own UK surf movie, but gave up after half an hour of lining them up on the beach, lying on their boogie boards, giving them directions, and then being totally ignored. At least that’s what it looked like from a distance. I had lots of fun peering at oddly shaped structures in the water and saying: “ooh look! I can see Southend” through the binoculars.

As the sun went down, we retreated to the beach huts for dinner and drying off. They are rather useful little structures – slightly bigger than sheds, with little porches at the front. We saw that one was for sale, and checked it out online. It cost over £25k. That’s £25k for a big shed on a slope next to a shingle beach. I mean, it’s lovely and everything, but…well, I think we’ll stick to the occasional caravan at Rye…

