To cheer us all up, here’s a meme that I stole from Angus’s blog:

1. You’re stuck inside Farenheit 451. Which book do you want to be?
Never liked that book. I read about ten pages and decided to go and do something more interesting like creosote the fence instead.

Oh well, if I’m stuck there

I’d have to be a London book, wouldn’t I? My fantasy would aspire to an elegant, cool, austere William Trevor-ish tome, but I’d probably be much better as White Teeth by Zadie Smith. Slightly overweight, funny in places, too clever by half and not too unsettling.

2. Have you ever had a crush on a fictional character?
Camille Desmoulins in Hilary Mantel’s A Place of Greater Safety. I usually end up with the early Nick Hornby narrators, though.

3. The last book you bought was …. ?
Ooh…just did a raid for my birthday:
Kate Atkinson: Case Histories
Orhan Pamuk: Snow
Katherine Briggs: British Folk-Tales and Legends

4. The last book you read was … ?
Haruki Murakami: Kafka on the Shore. Rather disturbing, disjointed depressive fantasy involving talking cats, stones as gateways to other dimensions, going naked into dark places, sexually compliant young strangers (usually female). The usual Murakami stuff.

5. What are you currently reading?
Dave Shea and Molly Holzschlag: The Zen of CSS Design. About time I got my head around standards-based design.
Andre Comte-Sponville: The Little Book of Philosophy. Philosophy for teens, and it’s stil hurting my head.

6. Five books you would take to a desert island …
Timothy Mo: An Insular Possession (nice and thick, with plenty going on)
Charles Dickens: Bleak House (see above – could do a compare and contrast)
James Joyce: Ulysses (need to read this again and pick up all the stuff that I missed because I was too young to understand)
The Bible (time to read The Old Testament again)
Complete works of Shakespeare (natch – or do we have those already? Do I get two more in that case? OK, Wilkie Collins: The Woman in White and Andrea Levy: A Small Island)

7. Who are you passing this stick on to and why?
The UKTT forum on Doublespacedforum.com, because we’d have some great arguments about No. 6.

