We managed to escape from Peckham yesterday, and spent the afternoon in Oxford St – well, John Lewis mostly, but I did check out a couple of other shops. Bit-on-the-side bought me lunch, and afterwards I pottered around the nursery dept, looking for a cradle toy and extra baby bits. The Baby Bjorn did a sterling job, and Ceej dozed until we got off the bus home.

It felt odd: I haven’t been near central London for something like four months, and everything was strange, but familiar too. Regent Street has a lot of boarded up shops – all done very tastefully of course, but I don’t think I’ve seen so many in a long time. The Liberty window display was entertaining as usual (very “punk” – like it means anything these days…grumble grumble). JL was comfortingly unchanged, thank goodness, and I enjoyed our lunch. We’re going to do it again soon, I hope.

I forgot to put the heating on this morning, and it’s just about bearable for me. Ceej on the other hand has been fast asleep for hours, and her blankets are still on. Maybe she’s been too hot to sleep recently, and this is a nice change for her.

