PROPER ART

We had an unexpected free day today, so instead of doing baby stuff, we went up to the Tate Modern to look at the giant sun in the Turbine Hall and get a couple of extra presents in the shop – where I discovered that I get a member’s discount, yay!

The giant sun was beautiful – an enormous monocolour lamp reflected in a shifting ceiling of mirrors stretching across the hall. People were stretched out on the floor, bathing in the light, which blanked out every colour in the spectrum except yellow, and staring up at their reflections in the ceiling. We would have joined them if it hadn’t been so difficult for me to lie down.

Then we went on our regular visit to the Rothko room, and actually got the place to ourselves for a few blissful seconds. It’s the nearest thing to a spiritual experience that you get in that place.

The present hunt in the gallery shop was successful – lots of pretentious tat on sale though. My card took a while to process, and the assistant made a slightly sanctimonious comment about people spending beyond their means which I got a tiny bit hormonal about. But I remained polite and said that the card was my bank account card, not a credit card, and I did have some money left. Besides, I continued, I’ve got a baby to give birth to in less than a month’s time (yeah yeah, I know I go on about it, but it’s…like…important…OK?). The assistant wondered that I had enough energy to leave the house. Granted, I had to go home almost immediately and flop out on the sofa for the rest of the day…

