Yesterday’s Society Guardian featured an artist called George Shaw. I won’t get to see his exhibition, because it’s not coming to That London, but I’m going to look out for him in future. I’m not usually a fan of figurative art, but this bloke intrigued me. He paints the council estates of his childhood as quite strange, intense, dark landscapes which have an austere, placeless beauty to them. Even odder, he paints them using Humbrol enamel paint – the same stuff you use for Airfix models. There’s a whole world of nostalgia, pride and defiance in each painting that I’d love to experience for myself…

Other news: the man whom my husband calls “your bit on the side” has started his own blog. He’s a bloody nice chap, and a fine writer who I used to sub mercilessly in the old days – I like to think my continual pisstaking, cruel banter and unrelenting sentence deconstruction has helped to make rather good journalist that he is today.

On a slightly more prosaic note, I’ve just seen that the work web server is down. It has to fall over on the first day of Clearing, doesn’t it? Gaaah!!

